I need to get my tape recorder back from Molly – and the next time I have Austin and nayeli together again, I plan to keep it on all the time. Their conversations are too interesting to keep to myself, but my old age memory is too bad to remember it all to just tell it. HOWEVER, here is an excerpt – pretty accurately passed along.
SCENE: after a day at the park for Rick’s birthday, everyone went home for a while – theoretically to unwind (grandma’s expectations anyway) and after a few hours, grandma picks up Austin and Nayeli in her van to bring home for the night. Nayeli has her camera with her – the pictures are basically already used up, but she has it. Austin, upon entering van and seeing her camera, refuses to leave home without it. Drive a mile or so:
Austin: yellie, I am going to take your picture.
Nayeli: No – you can’t. (calmly said)
Austin (perturbed): I WANT to take your picture yellie
Nayeli: No you can’t – (emphatically)
Austin: Grandma, yellie said I can’t take her picture – I want to.
Grandma: why don’t you wait? Maybe later she won’t care.
(Austin sets camera down in his seat – Nayeli picks it up)
Austin: that is MY camera
Nayeli: (no words, just stares – I have my mirror turned to see)
Austin: I want my camera (holds out hand)
Nayeli: (calmly) No.
Austin: (whimpering) grandma, yellie won’t give me my camera
Nayeli: I want it – mine is all done. (still very calm)
Austin: MINE!
Grandma: Nayeli, that is really Austin’s camera – you really should give it to him.
Nayeli: No, I want it.
Austin: (angry) I want it!
Nayeli: okay – I will share with you
Austin: (happily) Grandma, yellie is sharing with me.
Grandma: Great – good job both of you.
Austin: I will take YOUR picture yellie
Nayeli: No.
11 comments:
That is an awesome post! It made me laugh out loud. I'm glad Nayeli finally shared with Austin. Most of the time she is pretty good at sharing, but when she gets in a mood and doesn't want to share she's pretty stubborn-as you already know!
Based on the spelling of her name, I think Austin's nickname for her should be spelled "Yeli." And it would be capitalized, as it is still a name. And you should have told Austin that boys can't take pictures, only girls. He seems to thrive on that type of logic! LOL.
eh. typing capitals takes more effort - sometimes i get them out there, and sometimes not. and who would know how to spell austin's nickname for Nayeli :) they were great kids though
I would know. Because I am the king of the world. And you're lazy if you can't even use your shift key to capitalize. Wimp.
nerd
Oooooohhh...
Name calling, eh? Paparrazi!
And I'm sticking with "Yeli" as the proper spelling of her nickname.
fine, yeli - but no caps - the king is dead.
That's okay. I've decided that I would rather be an emperor anyways...
the difference being...?
mY fAMILY iS a bUNCH oF wEIRDOS! bUT i wOULD sECOND nICK'S sPELLING oF "yELI."
is this what they mean with the pHrase: the poT cALling the KetTle black?
Post a Comment